New Year’s Resolution: There is no try, so just do it!

yoda

2014 is coming to a close and 2015 is just about here. Not going to lie, i’m pretty excited. I’ve always really liked the start of the year because it’s a fresh start, a clean slate full of opportunity. And yes as I’m sure you’ve guessed, I am one of those people who makes New Year’s Resolutions.

It’s so easy to write what you want to accomplish and achieve, but the follow through is where the difficulty comes in. I mean it’s easy to say I want to go to the gym 3 times a week, but getting out of bed on those cold winter mornings at 5 in the morning is really really hard! Or trying to eat healthier is great, but who actually has time for it? It’s so much easier just to buy something at school or work, which typically ends up being not so healthy.

I’m a pretty disciplined person but there needs to be more than discipline with following through on goals. There needs to be desire. You have to really want it. That desire pushes you even when you feel like it’s impossible and you don’t have an ounce of motivation left. Let’s face it, if you are waiting to feel motivated to start, you aren’t going to get anywhere. That desire however, it forces you to move even when you don’t feel like it. It’s deeper than a feeling.

I just recently came up with a catch phrase (aka stole 2 other phrases and mashed them together) for 2015 for following through on my goals. It’s pretty deep. Ready? Here it is… “there is no try, so just do it!” Yoda and Nike, can’t beat that combination can you! Yoda is a pretty wise guy and his advice to Luke Skywalker of “Do or do not, there is no try” is 100% true. If you think about it, try doesn’t exist. Trying is just a way to make ourselves feel better about not reaching our goal or not committing 100%. It’s a way to let us down easy. For example, lets say I want to get out of bed at 7am. Either I get out of bed at 7am or I don’t. I can say “I tried to get out of bed but I was just too tired”. Sure I can say that. But all that really means is I didn’t get out of bed. It makes me feel better because at least I tried, but when push comes to shove, “try” doesn’t mean anything. Either I did or didn’t. One of my goals for 2015 is eliminating the word “try” from my vocabulary.

Once you have the goals and the desire, then comes the hard part. The doing part. This is the part where you put that discipline into action and face your obstacles, all the difficulty and discomfort and just push through knowing that the end goal is worth it all. It’s the thinking that yes, that chocolate bar would be delicious, and yes I’ll enjoy it, but it’ll be gone in 2 minutes and then I’ll feel crappy, so I’m going to be healthy, not eat it and feel better in the long run. It might not feel good now, but by keeping the end zone in sight, you force yourself to just do it and keep moving forward. For me, as a Christian when I’m feeling like giving up, I can always remember Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me”. That’s a huge part of where I find my strength to do anything in life. Even something as small as saying no to a chocolate bar.

Lastly, along with desire and disciple, timelines are key in achieving any goal. A goal without a timeline is just a dream. You have to take action  in order to reach your goal. For me, that means mapping out steps of how I’m going to accomplish my goals, practical realistic steps. Whether that goal is going to take a month, a year, or 10 years, a game plan with a timeline is a huge part of successful reaching that goal.

So there you go, some my thoughts on New Year’s Resolutions. Hopefully I’ll be able to follow my own advice! Here’s to 2015 being the best year yet!!

Leave a Reply

