Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving. A holiday where we can take a moment and realize how truly blessed we are and how much there is to be thankful for. As I’m writing this, the smell of turkey is wafting into the living room where I’m lying on the couch with a blanket, pillows, listening to U2’s new album and feeling so blessed. Yesterday was Thanksgiving dinner at the cousins and today is a super chill day of hanging out in pjs, doing nothing but eating turkey and pumpkin pie (yes I waited all year for that pumpkin pie). I’ve actually been able to take some time today and reflect on what I’ve been given and how much I have to be thankful for.

Having today off and spending it with the family is a nice much needed break from the craziness of work. To be honest, in day to day life, I often and regularly forget how blessed I am and how much I have to be thankful for. So much of what God’s blessed me with, I just assume that I deserve it and forget that everything in my life is a gift from Him. Each day my heart is beating is a gift.

On Saturday I was seriously reminded of this. A friend I’ve known since I was young passed away last week and there was a memorial service for him. Stephen was only 25 when Christ called him home. We were never really close but I grew up with him, we played hockey together and even tried starting a band back in the day. It was shocking news to hear of his passing because you figure at that young of an age, you have have so much time left, but you really never know. The short time that he did have here, he touched so many people and made a difference with his life. He really made every moment count and now he’s living in Paradise with Jesus.

No matter what’s happening in your life, no matter what you are going through, there’s always something to be thankful for, you just need to look hard enough for it. Stephen’s best friend shared with us at the memorial service that Stephen had that mentality and always found the good in any situation. That’s an amazing way to live life.

So as this weekend winds down and everyday life starts up again tomorrow, I’m really going to make an effort and try to complain less about things and instead, remember what I’ve been blessed with. Happy thanksgiving everyone, eat lots of turkey and pumpkin pie!!

Leave a Reply

