Officially full-time! To eternity and beyond…

LargeWork

Wow it’s been a long time since my last post, you know how it is, summer craziness!  Planning on posting a little more regularly though:) So a lot’s happened this summer, but I have some exciting news…today I signed my contract at work so Monday is the first day of my full-time work life! Does that officially make me an adult? (kidding, you don’t actually grow up, you just get older!) God’s just been super awesome, blessing me with the internship which has lead to full-time work with amazing bosses, great coworkers and doing something that’s actually in my field!

With the whole job thing, it’s kinda funny because people keep asking me questions like “So are you going to move out?” “Steven are you going to get a place downtown close to work?” and I’m like “I like my family!”,  “downtown is really expensive” and a really important one “my mom makes amazing food”. It’s true, my mom makes the healthiest best food. EVER.

But on a more serious note, being done school and starting my work career has kinda got me thinking about the future. I mean 5 years from now, who knows where life will take me, a lot can happen in 5 years. So with this whole theme of thinking about the future floating around in my brain, this quote by C.S. Lewis really popped out at me. Not only in one place but two, first on Instagram, and then it was mentioned in a sermon I was listening to today. It goes like this:

“If you read history you will find that the Christians who did most for the present world were precisely those who thought most of the next”

That really resonated with me because lately I’ve been thinking a lot about this world and my immediate future. And don’t get me wrong, that’s a good thing. I mean, making goals and planning for the future is just wise, but ultimately, all those goals and plans, everything will soon be gone and in the past (kinda like this summer, gone before you know it). I feel like the older you get, the faster life goes, and you realize that life is not that long, especially when compared to eternity. You gotta make it count, but ironically, by making it count, you aren’t focusing on this life, you are focusing on what is to come.  Living with Jesus at your center, reflecting Christ’s love, spreading that joy, that’s how to make the biggest impact in this life and to live a truly successful life. So what if I have a ridiculously successful career, make millions, drive a yellow Mustang, have an amazing wife, a house with a white picket fence and the cutest kids ever. That’s all great and those things are good, but they are temporary, they’ll all be gone in a blink of an eye. The C.S Lewis quote reminded me that I have to really adjust my mindset and think bigger. Living a life for Christ makes this life really count for the next life that will last for all eternity.  And with that in mind, I’ll end with one more C.S. Lewis quote because you really can’t say it better than C.S Lewis:

“We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

I need to constantly remind myself to think bigger and beyond this world, to infinity and beyond people!

Leave a Reply

